Statement on re-opening the church buildings

26th July 2020

Whilst the Scottish Government has now given permission for places of worship to reopen, our church leadership has concluded that it is not currently practical to do so whilst so many other restrictions remain in place.

  • We could only accommodate a much-reduced number within the church building
  • We would not be allowed to sing, which is an important part of our worship services.
  • Face coverings would be required at all times within the building.
  • We would require to implement strict hand-washing and sanitisation measures for everyone as they enter and leave the church building.
  • All areas of the building that are used (pews, doors, etc.) would need to be cleaned before and after each service.
  • We would have to record contact details for everyone attending which could cause GDPR problems.

The restriction on numbers would leave us in the difficult position of having to turn people away or ask them not to attend, which seems inappropriate at this stage.

The logistics of getting people in and out of the buildings safely whilst maintaining social distancing are also challenging. Above all our concern for your safety has led us to conclude that it is not currently practical for us to reopen.

Whilst the current arrangements are not ideal, they do mean that everyone has access to online services in their own homes each Sunday. We hold a service via Zoom each Sunday morning at 11am; if you are not on our mailing list to receive details of how to access these services please send us a message through the Contact Us page.

With the relaxing of lockdown regulations, you are now able to invite others into your homes and we would encourage you to consider resuming fellowship by inviting others to watch the services with you.

Our Kirk House Complex remains closed meantime and we anticipate that this will re-open soon after the church building itself has opened.

Plans are well underway for manna to re-open in early August. Please check their Facebook page and notices in manna’s windows for up to date announcements.

The Kirk Session are keeping the situation under review and will issue updates when appropriate.

Until we are able to meet again, if there is anything the church can do to help please do not hesitate to get in touch.


For updates on the services etc we are offering please click HERE


Worship - Cancellation of Services

We have acted upon the request from the Church of Scotland on 17th March 2020 asking that all worship services cease immediately.

This cessation will continue for the foreseeable future. 

We have also followed guidance and closed manna with immediate effect.

Please pass on this information to others who may not see it online.

Once we get through the initial confusion of cancellations and reorganisation, we hope that we can support one another - even at a respectful, hygienic distance - and offer the fulness of Christ's love in action.

Further updates will be posted here and on the Church Facebook Page

The latest updates from the Church of Scotland can be viewed here.


"Trust in Him at all times." Psalm 62 verse 8

Recent Orders of Service and Recordings

You can view recent Order of Services, listen to recent services and read our latest Church Journal by clicking the links below.

Click here to view the 9th August Order of Service.

Click here to view the 2nd August Order of Service.

Click here to view the 26th July Order of Service.

Sunday 9th August led by Rev Dr Amos Chewachong

Please click arrow to play or click below to download

Click here to download if required

Sunday 2nd August led by Rev Dr Amos Chewachong

Please click arrow to play or click below to download

Click here to download if required

Sunday 26th July led by the Worship Team

Please click arrow to play or click below to download

Click here to download if required

The NOTChurch Journal
Our latest mini Journal (19th April 2020) can be downloaded HERE.
To view the March 2020 edition (our latest full Journal) click here to download.

manna.jpgUnfortunately manna is closed for the foreseeable future to protect the wellbeing of all staff, volunteers and customers during the COVID-19 outbreak.


Fair Trade Cafe

Visit manna for excellent coffee and bakes, meet friends and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere! 


manna is already becoming a regular meeting place for groups and clubs - at all times of the day! We also stock gifts, crafts and jewellery! Love manna? Love Baking? Call in to see how you can help!

manna cafe

Open Tuesday-Friday 9am-5pm and Saturday 10am-5pm
11-13 Cupar Rd, Newport-On-Tay, Fife, DD6 8AF
Tel: 01382 542781

church_hall.jpgChurch Hall Booking

Uses include Children's Birthday Parties, Exercise Classes and Country Dancing! 


For more information, or to book, please phone Jane Johnston on (01382) 541606 or email:

Click here for rates table.

Full details on request. Bookings by outside organisations must be approved by the Minister or Session Clerk.